Lifestyle Change

Its been a a while since I last wrote and its not because I havent been following the kidney diet but I have been more focused on imporving my lifestyle and making it a permanent routine. I stopped working in a very hectic advertising environment as it was having negative effects on my results and general health and had a bit of a break to get back on track with exercise and eating properly but mainly to remove myself from a highly stressful environment.

I am now working for a fantastic company where there is very little stress and finish early each day so I have time to fit in my exercise and make a wholesome dinner each night. I am really enjoying my days and finding my new lifestyle can only have a positive effect on my health. 4466c45700ef4133470e779afdcf0e8e

I have really gone back to when I first started the kidney diet and done everything by the book as this was when my results improved the most. I have stopped eating chicken for a while as the reason I started encorporating it into my diet was I was loosing too much weight but I have found a happy medium of weight control and have a lot more meals to chose from these days. So to recap on what my kidney diet entails:

Water – 1,5 litres per day (this is based on my height and weight)

Kidney Tea (twice a day):

  • Lavender
  • Couchgrass
  • Dandelion
  • Stinging Nettle
  • Marshmellow Root
  • Horsetail

I avoid the following foods:

  • Wheat
  • Meat
  • Sugar
  • Dairy
  • Caffeine
  • Alchohol
  • Salt
  • Preservatives

Supplements:

  • Vitamin C
  • Multivitamin
  • Magnesium
  • Co-enzyme Q10
  • Alpha Lipoic Acid
  • Taurine
  • Iron
  • Flaxseed Oil
  • Ginseng

Homeopathic medication

EM Probiotic Health Booster

Electro/ Ionic Colloidal Silver

Daily Exercise – yoga, swimming and walking

Good Sleep – I aim to get 8 hours each night

Basically I need to focus on alkalizing foods as it is easier on the kidneys. See a chart below highlighting acidic and alkalizing foods:

It will take time.

It will require dedication.

It will require willpower.

You will need to make healthy decisions.

It requires sacrifice.

There will be temptation.

But, I promise you, when you reach your goal,

Its worth it!

2 thoughts on “Lifestyle Change

  1. I also started my kidney diet last month and I’m feeling a little better. My nephrologist recommended that I take some vitamins for the kidney to help with the cleansing. Right now, I’m taking ProRenal from Nephroceuticals.

    • Hi Janine
      How are you doing? Apologies for the late reply. Was in hospital for a gall bladder operation – nothing related to my kidneys.
      How is the diet going? What are your creatinine levels and gfr?
      Julie

Leave a Reply

