Focus

Definition of the word focus: To concentrate attention or energy OR The centre of interest or activity.

My focus, my energy, my interest or activities have not been on my health the last few months and due to that I had negative results this month. Amongst everything that has been going on with job, moving house, trip to Zimbabwe, etc. (aka life) I neglected myself and my health and was not 100% focussed on my lifestyle.

My eGFR went down from 11 to 10 (not a huge decrease and still not as bad as when I first started this diet when it was at 7 but not what the goal is) and my creatinine moved up from 414 to 446 (also not huge increase but worth stopping and re- assessing).

So I went and saw Dr Rouen Bruni, an absolute inspiration and fantastic health practitioner. Its worth driving to Pietermaritzburg to see him. He motivates me yet also reassures me I am on the right track and what I am doing is not total insanity. Rouen, if you reading this, thank you for guiding me and keeping me motivated. Your support has been incredible and makes doing this so much easier knowing what you went through and that it is possible.

I still dont have any symptons for kidney disease and am in good shape…besides the fact I have to buy clothes from the kiddies department and eat Purity as a snack sometimes. We felt the decrease in the results was due to the fact that I have had a lot on my plate and the stress from this and also a lack of exercise. Exercise, as in yoga/ pilates and some easy cardio (walking/ swimming/ bike) is so important in healing the body. So my plan is do yoga 3 times a week and cardio (walks on the promenade) twice a week and learning to chill out and not let things stress me out so easily.

Some really great news is my blood pressure has come down (was wondering why I had fainted and was feeling dizzy when I got up, but this is because my blood pressure has dropped) and so he advised me to start weaning myself off my blood pressure pills! Hooray!

Some more valuable advice I received from Dr Bruni is to add Dandelion herb to my kidney tea mixture of couchgrass, marshmellow root, stinging nettle, horsetail and lavendar and to increase the consumption to 2 cups of tea a day.

Benefits of Dandelion:

  • Dandelion is used for loss of appetite, upset stomach, intestinal gas, gallstones, joint pain, muscle aches, eczema, and bruises.
  • Dandelion is also used to increase urine production and as a laxative to increase bowel movements. It is also used as skin toner, blood tonic, and digestive tonic.

I think the learning in this is I need to be living this lifestyle, not just when I have time to do…it really is a matter of utter importance and critical that I make the time to eat properly, exercise and not let things worry me or stress me out. I also believe I have to look at it like this:

Always focus on how far you have come, rather than how far you have left to go.

Leave a Reply

