The numbers

I thought I would share the numbers with you so it all makes a little sense. Two tests are used to checked and assessed for kidney disease:  Creatinine and eGFR (kidney function).

Creatinine is a break-down product of creatine phosphate in muscle, and is usually produced at a fairly constant rate by the body. Creatinine is chiefly filtered out of the blood by the kidneys, though a small amount is actively secreted by the kidneys into the urine. As the kidneys become increasingly unable to cope, so the creatinine level rises. However, since I have been on this diet, my Creatinine level has decreased (as shown in the table below).

The GFR (Glomerular Filtration Rate) is clinically important because it is a measurement of renal function. GFR is a measure of how well your kidneys filter blood. NKDEP_GFR_DIALThe rate for a normal healthy female is between 90-115 ml/min.

October last year my GFR was at a very low 7ml(%). The doctors told me this could not improve and that I needed to be on dialysis. Well, as you can see it has increased to 9ml (%) and hopefully this continues to improve so I can be in the clear.

My Test Results (September 2012 – January 2013)

  18/09/12 10/10/12 31/10/12 11/12/12 15/01/13
Creatinine 557 621 601 481 466
eGFR 8 7 7 9 9
Leave a Reply

